AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

February 27, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 9:59 pm

Today I had all three boys all day. I went and picked them up at 8am. I completly forgot about preschool for S till lunchtime, and it was over by then. I’ll have to try and remember on thursday-it is good for his life to be as normal as possible. They have played pretty good today. I was able to buy a toy for S and Ax so they each had their own. I am struggling with sleep though. Naptimes aren’t happening. HOpefully as everyone gets used to living here it will get better. Bedtime tonight was interesting. S is not used to having other people in the room with him, Ax is used to falling asleep watching cartoon network(which is not happening here) and C…well, I don’t know how to get him to sleep. After struggling with C for a long time I ended up just putting up the playpen in my room and letting him cry it out there. I feel bad doing that, but I don’t know what else to do. In my arms he just crys anyway, but doesn’t falls asleep. Ax cried for a little bit for me to sleep with him, that he couldn’t sleep alone, but he fell asleep pretty quick, and S is still awake in there. lol. He can take forever to fall asleep sometimes. Maybe in an hour, or once I know S is completly asleep I will try and move C into his crib and just hope and pray he stays asleep.

I’m so exhausted. I know this will get easier. We will get into a routine. I WILL figure out sleep for them. I will get everything more organized and won’t have to be working so hard at getting it organized like I am now. It won’t be so bad then, but for now I think I am drowning! A Wise friend said this today: “…I had committed to do some things – all of which were parts of great opportunities… But when it came time for me to deliver on those committments I had lost sight of the opportunity and was wallowing in the “have to’s.” I have to do this, I have to do this…I don’t have enough time!

Not enough time is also a story – there are only 24 hours in a day and it is enough time.

So I have put a red flag up when I feel constrained and overwhelmed – a red flag to remind me to STOP stop and focus on the opportunity that brought me to committing in the first place!”

I love that. i just have to make this work minute by minute, day by day and remember what the opportunity was that lead me here. I need to remember what I am doing for these kids. I am getting a little more done each day, but it’s just so hard for me to not be able to do everything i need to quickly.

 

2 Responses to “”

  1. Lacie Says:

    It seems to me you are doing a wonderful job! I’m really impressed!

  2. Kim Says:

    I admire you so much. I am so glad I read this post. It is because of you that I have a desire to do foster care. It takes some pretty amazing people to be able to do this, and I believe that these two little boys are in your home for a special purpose. Whether it be for a few month or indefinitely. You have the power to touch their lives…be there in the middle of the night with hugs and kisses, be there when they need someone to give them 100% of yourself, even if for one minute! I feel like I am drowning each and everyday. Having two kids is a really hard juggle, I cannot imagine having three, but also I think good thing happen with age, the older ones can play and help with the younger ones (in time and not everytime) we are still working on this here. Hang in there though. Like I just wrote in the other post if you need anything, even if it is for my Jothy to come and play with the older ones and Emmy to play with the baby, I would love to do it okers? Hugs, I will keep you all in my prayers.


Leave a Reply

