AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

March 22, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 10:35 pm

On a group I’m on someone asked for a little background on a bunch of us that are adopting, etc. I’ve been feeling a little weird about my intentions in going through foster-care lately, so it was really good for me to write this and realize that what I had been feeling lately was not actually what happened. (Could I be any more vague?)

As long as I can remember, I’ve always feared/known that I would have a hard time having babies. We tried for 6 months and got pregnant with S(6 months felt like forever then…) He is 3 now and we have been trying since he was 6 months old(so that would be almost 3 years now) Last summer we started talking about our other options and exploring what we needed to do to ‘have’ more children (have children, like we want to start a collection. lol) and right around that time I was blessed to look outside of myself and within a couple weeks and met and talked to 3 different people involved in foster care. I quickly became convinced this was the way we needed to be going and we got started with the process. A few minor hold-ups happened, and we finally got our license in Dec of 2006 and We’ve had our boys in our home since the beginning of this month. I try soooo hard to NOT think about adopting them, but I know that if they ever leave our home they both will be taking a piece of my heart with them.

 

One Response to “”

  1. Lacie Says:

    Isn’t it “funny” how you always knew? I did too… I remember being a young teenager and being afraid I would never have children. Ayz is truely my little miracle!!!
    What an adventure for you guys, I’m sure it’s impossible to not get completely attached! In just the few times I’ve met them I can tell you I’m attached! It’s hard for me to imagine you not being able to adopt them, but I know that’s something you totally have to be prepared for. I really do think about you guys and pray for you everyday!
    How are things going? Is there anything you need?


Leave a Reply

