AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

Day 3 update August 23, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 11:40 am

He is still stable. They put in a feeding tube in his nose (they started the food today). He isn’t getting blood anymore which is good that he isn’t losing more blood. He had surgery yesterday-he had fluids in his belly so he is cut open with a sponge thingy connected to a vacumn to keep those out. We will do surgery again friday or saturday to either change that to a new one, or to take it out. Today they are stopping the iv fluids and giving him a diarettic to try and flush out some fluids(he is really swollen) so that they can do that surgery tomorrow and be able to close him up.

He is in a lot of pain. He was telling me that his feet and calves hurt bad-but I told him that is really good because he can feel them! The orthopedic surgeon did more xrays of his legs(I think today I get to see before and after of his legs) and some of his heel. He told me that while they were doing the xrays Andy was able to move his feet. Yay! Yay! Yay! that’s super cool. This morning Andy says he can’t feel his toes, but who knows.

He is pretty high on drugs. He fingerspells to me and we talk that way. He gets frustated when I can’t figure out a letter, I’m sure it’s really frustating to not be able to talk. He isn’t really remembering anything that is happening-he has asked me a few questions a few times each. It’s making me laugh. This morning he wanted a mirror or to see pictures, so I took some and showed him on the camera. He didn’t remember about his belly being cut open-it seemed to surprise him when I showed him that picture. Then he wanted pictures of his toes. I’m not sure why(hmmm, thinking about it maybe it’s because he can’t feel his toes that he wants to make sure they are there….?) I thought that was really funny that he wanted to see his toes.

Here are some pictures of ‘day 2’:

 

10 Responses to “Day 3 update”

  1. Kimmie Says:

    These are amazing. Your post made me smile, that you are finding goodness in all of this, and that Andy wants photos of everything, that is so great! We just love you guys so much, have I said that enough? It is really good to see photos of Andy, just to know he is okay, that he in fact still has toes! 😉 Prayers are with you.

  2. Kei Says:

    I’m yay-ing along with you as I read this update. Keeping Andy in my prayers, and the folks on my Down syndrome board are keeping you guys in their prayers. I haven’t shared your blog or the care page with them, but gave a synopsis of what happened and am updating. I’ve had several people ask about contributions too.
    Hugs!
    Kei

  3. Tonya Says:

    Ashlee,
    I am so happy to hear how well he is doing. I will continue to pray for Andy, you and your boys. You are such a strong woman! Thanks for taking the time to keep us all updated! Love ya!
    Tonya

  4. Jamy Says:

    Hi Ashlee. I was actually in Andy’s student ward. I found this page through a friend of a friend. I am so sorry to hear all this is happening. I’m glad to hear things are looking up and you are able to be so optomistic! You are certainly in my family’s prayers. Thanks for keeping updates- I’ll be anxious to check back often to see how things are going. Tell Andy that Jamy and Amy send their love from the student ward. 🙂

  5. Sally Says:

    Ashlee,

    Thank you for keeping us all updated. I’m glad that he seems to be handling things well(as well as can be expected!) and has had feeling in his legs and feet. You are so strong and I’m so glad that you have such a wonderful support system. We’re keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers.

  6. Jamy Says:

    By the way, I just looked through your old posts with pictures, and I know you too! You look so great! I would love to help out somehow. I’m not sure where you guys live, but we’re in Eagle Mountain. If there’s anything you need help with (cleaning, meals, errands, etc.) please don’t hesitate. You can reach me through my blog (since I don’t really wanna give out my number to the public!) Take care. http://www.meetthebaileys.blogspot.com/

  7. lace Says:

    Ashlee,
    I just wanted to let you know that I am thinking about you guys constantly! I can’t get over what a miracle Andy is, I’m so so glad to hear that he may be having feeling in his legs, that is such good news! I also really appriciate your updates! Please don’t hesitate to call if there’s anything you need at all!!!

  8. Hannah Says:

    Ashlee, I’m happy to see any sort of good news on Andy. I hope you can feel the love we are all sending. Andy, you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  9. UTmouser1 Says:

    I know that you don’t know me but I’ve been in the Mommies… anyway… I send you not only prayers but this scripture: 2nd Corinthians 12:9&10, because your love of that which grows from rock so reflects this time in your life. For you and your sweet husband I share this scripture: D&C 121:7-9 (although I’m pretty sure he’s already aware of this one!) I am secure in the knowledge that God embraces you and will strengthen each of you no matter what trial comes to you. May angels lift you, may faith inspire you and may love keep you.

  10. Trina Says:

    I just want you to know that you guys have beem in my thoughts constantly….It is such a miracle how good andy is doing!!! It just amazes me more and more everytime I read the updates. Thanks by the way for updating your blog and the carepage that was set up I read it the minute I get an email on it!!! I hope you know that you mean so much to us and you are in our prayers. I am so proud of yours and andys courage and being sooo positive about everything!!! You guys are just amazing. I know everyone has been saying ” let me know if you need any help” BUT REALLY we all mean it and PLEASE just let us know small or big!!!!!

    Love ya
    Trina


Leave a Reply

