AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

Aug. 29th August 29, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 7:40 pm

I can’t beleive how well I’m doing running on no sleep. I amaze myself.

It took a long time to regulate pain today. He was dying mostly all night and all morning. He was in a really bad place and I couldn’t do anything for him. It was horrible. He just kept telling me ‘you don’t understand-it hurts immensly, immense pain” etc. Really hard to not be able to help. We just did a roller coaster since every time he would get comfortable the pain would start back again.

Finally around 1pm we got to give him the same medicine he was getting 2 days ago, before the surgery. (roxycodone, and oxycotin) and he got to keep the ‘pain button’. That helped his pain level to a point that he should have been ok, but he was fighting it hard. He wasn’t letting himself fall asleep and relax. I could get him to relax enough to sleep for about 10 minutes, but then he’d be awake and wanting rearranged again. I’m all about making him comfortable, but he needs to let the medicine to it’s job and try to not focus on the pain so much. Around 3pm they were able to give him an anti-anxiety drug. I’m not sure if the extra medicine put him to sleep, or he was finally able to relax enough, but he was out of it for a couple hours, so I finally felt comfortable leaving. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do tonight-I knew I wasn’t going to be able to leave him like he was this morning, so I’m really thankful we were able to get that worked out. His mom and Dad were staying later and going to make sure he was still comfortable after shift change then go home.

My kids were so happy to see me and play. They have missed me a lot, so we had some fun tonight since I left the hospital earlier than I usually do. I miss them a lot. They are so fun.

I am still daily amazed at how thoughtful and generous people are being. I’m keeping track and I will be sending out thank you cards. You all mean so much to us. Even the fact that so many are reading this blog-it’s been important to me to know that people really do care about us. Thanks.

No pictures today, I was tired, he was out of it, and nothing new happened.

 

9 Responses to “Aug. 29th”

  1. Kei Says:

    I’m so glad there was some relief so he could get some real sleep for a couple hours. I can imagine just how happy the kids were to see Mommy and play. Now make sure YOU get enough rest okay? I know, easier said than done. I also know what it’s like to go on little to no sleep~ sometimes our systems allow us the resources we need to be able to do that.

    Thinking of you and keeping you and Andy in my prayers.
    Hugs,
    Kei

  2. Sally Says:

    I’m so glad that he was able to have better pain control today. I’m with Kei, make sure you get some time to relax too. If you don’t your body will just crash!

    Take care,
    ~Sally

  3. Tonya Says:

    You amaze me too! You are doing an awesome job as a wife and mother to be there for Andy during the day and at night with the boys. I also agree with Kei and Sally, take time for yourself! Call me if you want to get ice cream or something! I’m glad the boys got to spend some time with you tonight.
    *hugs*
    Tonya

  4. Kimmie Says:

    I read the care page update yesterday, it just wasn’t the same coming from you. You are SO positive Ashlee, I love you. You are being strenghthened beyond measure. We love you guys immensely, if there is ANYTHING that we can do, please let us know!

  5. ashlee Vee Says:

    I am in amaizment when it comes to how strong you are and have to be. The lord is always with you and will be there for these hard times ahead. Just remember we all love you and you have MANY MANY MANY prayers headed your way.

    TTFN,
    Ashlee VEE

  6. Cathy Says:

    I just wanted to let you know that we have Andy and your family in our thoughts and prayers. Please make sure that you get some down time, too.

  7. Tony Says:

    Andystein will pull it through! He’s ANDYSTEIN!!! I can’t wait to see him!

  8. Trina Says:

    I am so glad to hear that the pain level is better today. I am too amazed by your strenght and your positive attitude you are doing so much better than I would be.

    Love ya
    trina

  9. JaLyn Says:

    I agree with everyone else. you are amazing. big hugs. love ya JaLyn


Leave a Reply

