AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

oh wow August 29, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 8:10 am

This is the end of the aug. 28th update. He had surgery all day. The night is a blur for me-the dr.s came out around 9:00 I think and told us how it went. It went well, they fixed what they wanted to fix, and in a week they will go in again to finish up. (one body can only take so much in a day) I think I’m supposed to to happy about that, but I’m not. They had to fuse a few vertebra together and they say that won’t restrict movement very much, but it will some. The heel did get squished and we just have to wait and see on that.

We went home after that, he had just gotten out of surgery and was out of it. I bawled my whole way home and forever at home. I took a shower/bath and went to bed. I got a call at 11:30pm and checked the message-it was the hospital, I guess Andy was waking up from anesthia (no way i’m spelling that right. bah) and he was in a lot of pain and wanting me. I was able to talk to him on the phone and first thing he said was ‘help me’ and he told me the nurses weren’t helping him(i’m sure they were trying) and that he needed me. So jump out of bed and book it to the hospital. Aprill came with me. I’ve been up basically all night. He is on a ‘button’ for pain meds. It’s a strong medicine, but not a long lasting one, so he has to keep hiting the button. but it makes him out of it, and sometimes he will get to the point where he will sleep for about a half hour, but then he crashes since he hasnt’ been hitting the button. Its been a roller coaster all night. I’m begging them to just put him on a drip or something in his central line. They have said they are working on it, everything just takes time, but this is hard.

 

9 Responses to “oh wow”

  1. Kei Says:

    Hugs Ashlee. Thinking of you!

  2. Tammy Thompson Says:

    Oh Ashley, I am sooo sorry for what you guys are going through. I have been praying for you and I called Jordan River Temple yesterday morning and put Andy’s name on the prayer role.
    Is there anything you need? If there is anything I can bring you to the hospital let me know. If you just need a big 2 liter of caffeine or whatever, I would be happy to help.

  3. Sherry3995 Says:

    ((((HUGS))))

    Ashely, I have updated our prayer chain and they are keeping Andy, your family and you in thier prayers. This is from Fremont, CA.

  4. Tony Says:

    You are very strong! Andy is very lucky to have you there with him. I’m glad that the surgery went well and he is still trying hard.

  5. Trina Says:

    Ashlee I am seriously in tears, I am soooo sorry that you all having to go through this. You are so strong and such a good wife for being there for you sweet husband. When I was reading the part about the button and how he kept pushing it, it reminded me of my experiance when I was in labor with tanner and the epideral was not working and I kept pushing the button. In a way I know what andy is going through as far as wanting the pain gone…..poor guy. I am so sorry again for everything, but I am glad to hear the surgery went okay. I was worried all day and had knots in my tummy just thinking about it. I pray for you every night hang in there. Love you guys, Trina

  6. Sally Says:

    Ashlee I am so sorry! What a horribly long day. I’m sorry that his pain meds are so messed up and that they are not giving him what he needs for it right now. I hope they can get him on a drip soon. Stay strong and know that we are all here for you if you need anything!

  7. Stacey Says:

    Ashlee I’m thinking of you and am praying for you and Andy. Hugs to you.

  8. Hi! I found your site through Kei’s. I just wanted to tell you that I am praying for your husband. Also, I am a RN, and they can program the PCA pump to give a continuous dose. It’s called a basal dose. Ask them about it. It should only take a call to the doctor to get the order. I hope that helps!

  9. Kimmie Says:

    Oh poor ANDY! I have felt “intense” pain before, but NOT for hours upon hours upon hours. My heart is breaking for him. I am so thankful to hear it is undercontrol and that he, and hopefully you are able to rest. All our love!

    Kim


Leave a Reply

