AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

Sept 14th-Friday September 14, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 8:24 pm

I can’t believe it’s only 4 days till Stryker’s Birthday. He’s going to be 4. Wow.

Another good day for Andy. He has on his homer shirt and scrub pants. Looking good. šŸ™‚ I guess this morning the nurse didn’t realize he could eat food, since he has the feeding tube, and she didn’t bring breakfast. She apologized and brought lunch. Poor guy-he didn’t miss it too much though. He had his nurse roll him to one side and I climbed in bed with him and we took a nap for about a half hour. Yay! It was soooo nice. I love to cuddle. Lunch and meds came. He didn’t eat very much, especially for missing breakfast!

PT came in and showed me Andy’s new trick. Andy mostly moved his legs to the side of the bed on his own, then they helped him sit up and he moved himself over to his chair all by himself. They are there to spot him, but he does all the work. Holding himself up and pushing/lifting with his hands. So cool! He amazes me. He pushed himself around in the chair and Adam showed us where the speech office is. Rachel, from speech came out and brought us in. Adam says that now that Andy can move himself to his chair with little help he can start going to these appts on his own, not making them come to him. šŸ™‚

Speech did some memory games. Nothing huge, and she isn’t thinking he will have speech for much longer. They just want to make sure everything is fine.

We came back to the room and got some pain medicine and he sat in the chair and I read some more of my blog to him. It’s still way too close for me to be reading it. I cried a couple times today, but its really interesting to him. He remembers very little of the first 2 weeks and it surprises him sometimes.

He ate 3 med. cups of microwave popcorn. He wanted it. I obliged. šŸ˜‰

He has a big ol’ blister on his left ankle. It’s huge. I have a picture. they were thinking of popping it, but the nurse got a 2nd and 3rd opinion(2 of them came in to look at it) and they think we should just let it go. They put gauze around it so if/when it pops there will be something to catch the nastiness. Ew. The charge nurse came in a couple times today-she is really nice. When they were looking at his blister she asked andy if he wanted pizza and he said yes, but then she told him it was ‘the pie’ pizza and his eyes lit up. He was so excited. I left soon after that, so hopefully she remembered and brought him in a peice. That would be cool.

I think I said this yesterday, but I’m really liking rehab. Everyone is fun and nice and so accommodating. They really make it fun to be there. I’m glad, it really could be a miserable place, but they have great staff. It’s so fun, I want to be there! lol

Pictures of today and yesterday:

Sitting up in the chair*yesterday(I’m sorry I can’t get it rotated.)

You can see the feeding tube in the back of his throat! So cool!

Moving himself. WooHoo!

his big blister. Nasty! Andy was all about it. He wanted to see it.

I told him to smile. He is pretending to be dead.

 

3 Responses to “Sept 14th-Friday”

  1. Kei Says:

    That is a really gross blister. On the feeding tube picture~ at first glance I thought you took a picture of a pill in his mouth, until I read the caption. The most impressive picture moved me to tears~ Andy moving himself!!!!! It must have felt so wonderful for you to take a nap with him too.

    Happy Early Birthday Stryker!

    Have a great weekend Ashlee!

    Hugs & prayers, Kei

  2. Sally Says:

    WOW!! Way to go Andy!! That gave me such a huge smile to read that he is moving himself. WOW! After 3 weeks he has come such a long way! That blister is pretty nasty! I’m so glad you got some cuddle time. I bet it was nice for both of you. Happy Birthday Stryker! What an awesome update Ashlee!

  3. peace52 Says:

    How do I begin to put into words what an inspiration you and Andy are to me? I have been following Andy’s progress on your blog and at the CarePage. So awesome!!! Add me to Andy’s “fan club.” (((Hugs))) to your family.

    Carol aka peaceandlove at MC


Leave a Reply

