AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

Thursday September 27, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 7:22 pm

Andy was feeling better today. Not all the way, but he didn’t have an ‘episode’ today. A couple dr.s came in and talked to him about it. Dr. White(the trauma surgeon) wasn’t sure what is going on with the chest pain, but they are thinking maybe acid reflux. It doesn’t fit everything that we are saying, but it’s something simple they can try first. We will know pretty fast if it is or not since once he takes the medicine he shouldn’t have another ‘episode’.

He did PT with Adam. (Yay for Adam-I like him the best) Andy did really good. Adam was really impressed with the progress Andy has made-the strength in his legs specifically. He seems to not be having as much hip/nerve pain when he moves his right leg. He can move it a lot farther than he could. He had OT with Josh-they worked on triceps using a weight lifting machine that andy pushes down with his arms while he is sitting in the wheelchair. Josh really pushed him. He had him do a few sets normal, just up and down, then a few sets where when andy was coming back up he had to stop at 25% 50% and 75% and hold each for 10 seconds. Andy did great. He is going to be so buff after all this!

He moved to the new room today. It’s going to be awesome. I didn’t have any time there to enjoy it though. We moved, and of course Andy isn’t much helping putting stuff away and organizing, so I did all that(and I was stressing having everything out-we have a ton of stuff up there!). Then Andy needed help doing something and that took about a half hour. I was rushing so much-I should have left at 4pm to get home in case we needed to go to visit today, but I didn’t get out till 4:30 since I was helping Andy. I should have just had his nurse do it, but I really want to do all I can and not rely on them so much. (but even on that I go back and forth-the things I know how to do already I’m tempted to just sit and let the nurses do it since I will be doing it myself for a long time, why not just take advantage of the help we have now?)  Oh, and visit didn’t happen, so it is frustrating I rushed out of there, but it’s also a good thing since I would NOT have been home in time to make it like I should have. That would have been really embarrassing.

Dr. White did tell us that they did find a small blood clot in a small vein in the back of one leg, but it’s nothing to worry about. Whew-that is good to know. The new room is going to be awesome. His hospital bed is there, plus a queen bed and a few chairs. Lots of storage, a tv, a sink and bathroom with shower. The bathroom has a “for patient use only” sign on it, but if I’ve learned anything yet at the hospital it is the bathrooms that say patient use only I CAN use them and if they don’t have that sign, I’m not supposed to use them….So I’m excited once again to be able to shower there. lol I’m planning on sleeping over tomorrow(friday) night and again Sunday night to help with shower and bowel program, and to know what needs to happen throughout the night. That will be fun, but hard on my boys probably. I think in the new room will be better for the boys to visit-it’s bigger and private so hopefully we can stay longer on Sunday. That would be good.

I’m getting really excited for him to come home. I don’t know how to get my boys ready though. I think they don’t get it-that daddy isn’t going to be back to normal and he is going to need a lot of help and he isn’t going to be able to play like he used to. I need to talk more about it, but I really don’t think they get it when I have talked about it. It will be an interesting few days/weeks while we all adjust to our new routine.

 

4 Responses to “Thursday”

  1. Kimmie Says:

    Yay for the new room! Sounds like an incredibly busy day, but a good day!

  2. Kei Says:

    Busy busy. Each day is full of moving forward, and this one sounds like it’s been a great one. Exciting to hear about the new room~ and sleepovers!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!!!
    Hugs & prayers,
    Kei

  3. Sherry3995 Says:

    Every day I read this to be inspired. You are amazing Ashley. Keeping things in order, helping, learning and caring. My hat is off to you!

  4. Tony (Evelyn) Says:

    I’m glad Andy is down awesome. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

