AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

6 weeks October 2, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 10:24 pm

It’s been 6 weeks today. It feels like it’s been so much longer than that. I keep saying it’s been over 2 months, and my sister keeps correcting me. I really can’t believe it’s only been 6 weeks. That feels like such a short time!

Andy was ok today-not as good as yesterday, but not as bad as he has been lately. He did therapy and everything but he wasn’t feeling great. His stomach was hurting-not so much nauseas but just hurting. They did an x-ray of his bowel area to see if he was constipated. Andy kepts joking that they were checking to see if he was full of crap. lol 🙂 They did find that he truly is full of crap. It’s a hard balance they have to find right now. We can’t just fill him full of laxatives and stool softeners to clean him out because his poop needs to be somewhat formed for him to not leak. (tmi?) but obviously he is too formed at this point. They are giving him fiber to help the poo form, but fiber without extra water just makes you constipated(and Leslie said that pain medicine can make you constipated too). So they are going to do a ‘Mayo’ to clean him out. It’s a mix of baking soda and sugar and then manual stimulation and I guess it’s a pretty strong enema type deal. Then they are going to cut down a bit on the fiber to see if that helps. He has had the mayo before and hated it. He said it hurt-I can only imagine what that would do to your bowels. I’ve never had an enema or anything, that I can remember, but I can’t imagine it’s fun. I’m not sure when they were going to do that-hopefully tonight. They said that can easily be what is making his stomach hurt and making him nauseas, so hopefully they can get him cleaned out and he can start having great days again.

We really try to make the days fun. It’s hard on the days when he isn’t feeling good because he isn’t feeling very happy, but usually we can make it fun. I am making it sound like it’s both of us, I probably should give most of the props for making it good days to Andy. He really does great at that, and I’m just there for the ride.

For OT today we went to the kitchen and Andy made Mac n’ cheese. We are trying to figure out how to do as much as possible so that when he is at home he isn’t useless. He will need more help than normal, so it’s important for him to know how to do as much as possible so that he doesn’t feel so useless and a burden. He did pretty good, he had a couple things to think about doing differently, then we ate his yummy mac and cheese. He makes the best ever. I can’t make it like he does. I’ve missed that. Mmmmm.

After lunch he had PT, but in all our excitement about mac and cheese we didn’t go back to the room for meds and to cath, so he was leaky all over when he got on the mat. I went and got supplies and we fixed that. He was on one of the harder mats today though, so he was in a lot of pain and his back sore was bleeding. ick. He did the PT session like a trooper(more leg exercises like yesterday-mosly hamstrings and some foot massage to desensitize) and we got him back to bed.

The would team was already set to come in this afternoon to look at his back, so it was actually perfect timing after we got him back to bed.  A guy came in a took the bandage off Andy’s back and looked at it and poked it. He said that since it’s part of the incision, he defers to the surgeons first to come look at it. It seems like he said that usually they will just defer back to him to fix it, but he needs to have them come look at it and see what they say before he does anything. He did say that he didn’t poke all the way, but to him, it seems like he could just poke all the way through-so that part of the incision hasn’t healed at all. I would think they would need to pull whatever scabbing is in there out and re-suture it…but I don’t know. We will see. He said it didn’t look too much to worry about-like infected or anything like that. He also looked at the spot where the blister was on andy’s heel and said it looks great-that it is totally healed, but since it’s such fresh skin he put something on it to protect it till it can get a bit tougher skin on it.

At that point where it had been awhile since he had had his pain medicine we had some downtime. He had actually just taken the medicine, but he was just laying in bed and reading his scriptures. He commented that it was unusual for him to be able to focus his eyes and think as well as he was while he was reading right then. He is on a lot of medicine and I think he is ancy to get feeling back to normal, and that includes not needing to take so much medicine. He is slowly taking less of one of them so that’s looking good for now.

He got his loaner wheelchair today. He has been using one of the rehab units and will use this rental till his is finished. It’s basically the same as the one he has, but needed a few adjustments so they took it, fixed it, and brought it back. He also got his slideboard. The guy that brought it was super pushy about writing on it that it is ours. I was trying to blow him off as I didn’t think that was necessary. I was just going to be taking it and putting it in the van. While in the hospital he can just use theirs, so just to leave it in the van for when he comes home. Then once he is home we won’t need to have his name on it as we will all just know it’s Andy’s. lol But I guess this guy felt it was pretty important since he kept pushing it. I’m not all that confrontational on the spot so I didn’t defend my position.(Now give me some time to think and decide my stance and what to say and I can stand up to the best of them…but not on the spot-I sink on the spot) Andy was able to think up something creative of course, so his brand spanking new slide board now has written in marker on the back “This belongs to the butt of Andrew gudmundson” lol though it still ticks me off that he basically made us write anything on it.

At the end of PT with Adam we were all talking about how far Andy has come. We were specifically talking about the one few sessions when Andy was just sitting up on his own and batting the balloon back and forth and if it went too far out he couldn’t get it, then when he was ‘high-five’ing Adam with one hand, and then with 2 hands. We were totally laughing at that Andy from a couple weeks ago, and at how far he really has come. If you don’t remember he was just sitting up on his own and Adam was working on getting him to just use his trunk to keep him up and not his hands-it was such a milestone when he was able to double high five Adam, but that seems so silly now. I wonder what the next 6 weeks will bring. I’m sure I’ll be looking back and laughing at how silly it seems to be rejoicing that he was able to bring his feet up onto the bed on his own. It doesn’t lessen the glory of each event, but it’s just amazing how far he has come.

My mom and dad came up for awhile today and brought Alex. He thought that was pretty cool that he got to see Daddy and the other boys didn’t. He is so competitive with Stryker about everything. I really need to get them in 2 different sports or classes so they each have their own thing to shine in. Alex really needs to shine, but for now they both seem to do the same stuff and that is hard cause I can’t only focus on one of them, I have to find good in both of them. I wouldn’t change that, but I do need to find things that can make them different. They both need that.

I did bedtime alone and it went pretty well. Bedtime was a struggle before all this and now we are all stressed, so by the end of the day it can get pretty rough. I am a ‘volcano mom’. I hold it all in, all the stress, all the ‘verbal abuse’, if you will, from the kids, etc. but then I blow up-so sometimes I think I can probably be kinda scary. I’m really working on it-I know it’s a problem. The very last thing I want is my kids to be scared of me…..so anyway, it went well tonight. I really really working on being more relaxed about the whole thing. remembering that they are still little and just want to play and have fun. I get so stressed-once we have started bedtime I tend to just want them to stay focused and move through the steps quickly and efficently and that just is way to much to expect from a 5 and 4 year old, esecially together. So I’m getting better and letting it take more time than I’d like, with more laughing and playing than I’d like and we are all happier in the end. I have made lots of changes to make it better-like they needed to not be napping so they were tired, I set up a bedtime routine chart thing, I have given in to the idea of sitting in the hallway after I get them in bed so they are happier and fall asleep. I really just went off on a tangent there, but bedtime is slowly getting better. My kids are getting used to the routine and I am getting more able to relax.

As if today’s post isn’t long enough, but I want to add this song. Again, a song by Dixie chicks, but this seems to say so much of what I am feeling. I love music-it is able to express so many things for me. Just putting the lyrics here doesn’t give it justice IMO since the music is so much a part of the feelings of the song. I’ve never been able to get into poetry for that reason I think…

Baby Hold On, Dixie Chicks

Hey, it might never be the same
We might never live those days gone by
But we can try

Good morning
Let’s kick the babies out of bed
How bout you and me instead hanging on
Not up and gone

(Baby, hold on)
Let’s start this over
(Baby, hold on)
We’re not much older now
(Baby, hold on)
If you still see what I see
Keep holding on
Hold on to me

Baby, it’s good to see you smile again
I know we can’t escape
So let’s pretend
We’re someplace else

It’s a new day
Let’s look at all we’ve got
It’s everything we thought
We ever wanted
It’s beautiful

(Baby, hold on)
Let’s start this over
(Baby, hold on)
We’re not much older now
(Baby, hold on)
If you still see what I see
Keep holding on
Hold on to me

I look across the room and catch you staring at me
And see the love we almost left behind
So lead me by the hand and let’s make up
Let’s make up for lost time

(Baby, hold on)
Let’s start this over
(Baby, hold on)
We’re not much older
(Baby, hold on)
If you still see what I see
Keep holding on

(Baby, hold on)
Hold on to me
(Baby, hold on)
Just hold on to me
(Baby, hold on)
Hold on to me
Keep holding on

Hey, it might never be the same
We might never live those days gone by
But we can try

 

4 Responses to “6 weeks”

  1. Kei Says:

    6 weeks~ wow! It’s never silly to celebrate the milestones… each one adds up and look at Andy now!
    I love Andy’s sense of humor~ he cracks me up and I hope to one day meet him in person.

    Oh, the bedtime routine woes! Yes, we have them from time to time. Not so much now as when they were younger, but there will be an occasional night when Sarah comes knocking on the door begging to come and snuggle in with us. She has even slid notes with drawings under the door! William needs to have his bedtime reading time and if we aren’t paying attention, he tries to drag it out for a really long time.
    It gets better, and sounds like you’re doing well with all the boys and the stresses of everything going on.

    Hugs & prayers~ Kei

  2. Sally Says:

    I’m so sorry that I haven’t kept up as much on your blog. Please know that you all are still in my thoughts and prayers daily. I try to check back. It’s a little chaotic here though.

    Lots of love,
    xoxo
    ~Sally

  3. Kimmie Says:

    So hard to believe it has been six weeks! What an amazing six weeks. We started the Foster Care classes tonight. I just want to run and talk to you. So many thoughts and feelings. What a relief to come here and know that I can still be me. So glad to know you are just like ME and you melt down and have bad moments too. I have them all too often, just trying to let it all flow easier, not force my kids so much! You are such an example to me.

  4. JaLyn Says:

    I love your recap of your bedtime routine and the progress you have made. I like to think about all the little places I have changed and improved, like the way my kids and I get along. It makes me feel like a good mom/wife/friend/daughter/etc. I think you are doing great at being all of the people you need to be. keep it up:)
    6 weeks!!! I’m with you, I think it feels longer too and I’m just part of the peanut gallery, not doing any of it. You are both strong people and an example to the rest of us. Thanks


Leave a Reply

