AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

Saturday October 13, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 10:39 pm

I was super busy today getting ready for Andy’s party. I made him call people to invite them if I didn’t think they knew about it already. He was so funny about it-He was mostly leaving messages saying “This is Andy, I’m calling to invite you to a party in my honor.” He loved the party today. He is all about parties, and to be the main attraction was all he could have asked for. lol My mom asked him at one point if he needed to get back in his bed and he said no, so she told him that if he needed everyone to leave to just say and she could have the room cleared fast for him. He said “But I’m getting all the attention!” lol What a ‘yellow’.

The party was really fun. I was surprised at how many people came. I was worried that only a couple people were going to come-I guess I don’t have much trust in my ‘party-throwing’ skills, but andy has always been the party master so people came for him. 🙂 And, it wasn’t a huge mess after. Yay! lol Thanks to everyone who came-it really was great.

I think I’m almost done organizing. It’s feeling really good. I have a few things I’m selling and a few things to move around, but I’m seeing the end! My mom and Dad and sister were over last night to rearrange my living room so we could include andy. there was a couch/tv area and the room was split in half-and he was in the other half. So we moved stuff around to be able to have his bed as part of the tv/couch area to include him.  The next goal I have is to get something set up so all his supplies are accessible to him so he can gather everything and be independent, possibly not needing me at all for some things.

Tomorrow is the last day that Aprill is off work. I’m nervous about next week. I honestly don’t think I can do this on my own, but I will just have to, we will just have to. I think I’m going to try and figure out what time(s) of day are the worst and maybe try and have someone come over to help during that time. I’m thinking mornings are bad-when I’m trying to get Andy up and going. It takes so much time and focus and it’s hard to take care of the kids at the same time.

Andy and I are really both trying so hard with all this. We are getting along better and we are both trying to communicate our needs more than before. As bad as this is, there are so many things that are coming out of it that are good. I feel so blessed that he is even alive, but also talking and normal and will walk again, etc. I am blessed to have such support around. I have learned a lot about how to support someone in crisis from this. I’m so thankful to my family, to aprill. She really has taken the brunt of this. I can’t take any stress out on the kids, I can’t take it out on Andy and I’m sure aprill has received most of that, but she still keeps on coming back for more. I’m so thankful that workers comp. is paying for everything. I see bills and there is no way we could ever do this on our own. (his shared room in rehab was 610.00 a night! His cushion on his wheelchair is almost 400.00! the mattress on his bed is rented for almost 400.00 a month! The medipillar is rented for 200.00 A WEEK!) Really, if you are going to get hurt like this, do it at work. 🙂

Neuroworx called and we set up therapy-he will go Mon, Thur, Fri at 10am for about an hour and a half. That will be cool. I’m feeling a lot of responsibility having him not doing therapy to do all the exercises at home. Maybe I will still have ‘homework’ but it’s been hard to find the time to get them in, and I don’t really know what I’m doing. Anyway, it will be good to have him going to therapy again.

 

One Response to “Saturday”

  1. Kimmie Says:

    It was SOOOO good to see you guys, and to see Andy alive and well. It was so great! We had SUCH a fun time, the kids loved the balloons, Joth keeps talking about it. And Flavio was so pleased to meet Rachel! I am not even kidding! Ha! You look wonderful Ash, really you do. Loves and hugs.


Leave a Reply

