AshLieAxAndIke

Welcome to Our Craziness!

12.31.07 January 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — ashlieaxandike @ 1:36 am

The last day of a crazy year. It’s been life-changing in so many ways for me and my family, and my extended family. Lots to think about, and to feel blessed for. I honestly feel like this past year both Andy and I have been saved from death. It has made me really re-think my priorities and realize how much more I need to be doing-for myself, for Andy, and for my kids. They are all so special to me. We have had it rough for awhile but I feel like I have crashed through so many walls with my boys and gotten closer to them.

Andy is doing a lot better. The last few days have been rough since he has stopped taking his pain medicine except at night. He does not want to be addicted and is stubbon enough to do it cold turkey. Not the easiest thing on your body. I know he can do it though-before the last surgery he was only taking one lortab for bedtime. He is really working to be more independent. It’s a struggle for him, but it’s important to me(and I hope to him) that he does as much as he can on his own. He’s so good about not whining about it being hard.

I’ve been hearing a lot about how great I am and I feel like I can’t take that compliment. I don’t feel like I’m doing anything amazing. I’m just doing what needs to be done. My life is full of choices-I choose to marry Andy and to have a family with him and with those choices come some things that maybe aren’t so ‘happily ever after’, but it’s all part of the deal. We only get to choose how we react to things. If I were to mope around and be bitter all the time, that wouldn’t change any of this. It wouldn’t make it go away. So you have to choose to be happy with what you have. I’m so grateful that Andy is alive, that this isn’t permanant, that he has a great attitude. I’m grateful for workers comp, I’m grateful for friends and family. I’m grateful for the amazing changes this has brought to our home and our marriage. Why be sad when you can choose to be happy?

 

2 Responses to “12.31.07”

  1. JaLyn Says:

    well put Ashlee.
    but, I want you to know:
    the part that makes you great is not feeling like you are doing anything amazing. the part that makes you great is choosing to stand by the vows you took long ago. the part that makes you great is choosing to be happy. the part that makes you great is being grateful for life through all of the twists and turns.
    we can all be great in our own situations. One thing that helps me work toward greatness in my situations is to have friends that are great in their situations.

  2. Kei Says:

    I love your choices.

    Hugs!


Leave a Reply

